Is being mean and fighting with my boyfriend normal after an abortion?

Catherine Hodge
Catherine Hodge
Licensed Mental Health Counselor

Yes, it is completely normal to experience a wide range of emotions after a major loss. Healing can occur in stages. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross proposed the concept of the five stages of grief:

  1. Denial - Unable to believe the reality of the loss.
  2. Anger - Wanting to blame somebody or something, having thoughts like "this isn't fair!" and "why me?"
  3. Bargaining - Hope that you can somehow avoid the cause of grief with a promise to compromise or change.
  4. Depression - Feeling sad, discouraged, and/or hopeless.
  5. Acceptance - Being able to remember with love rather than pain.

The stages are not linear and not everyone experiences all five stages in this order. This 5-stage model is meant to help normalize the grieving process and educate individuals that you have to let yourself feel your way through your grief. It can help to work with a trained professional counselor to guide and support you on your path to healing. ​​

The information above is intended as general information...  (more)The information above is intended as general information based on minimal information, and does not constitute health care advice. This information does not constitute communication with a counselor/therapist nor does it create a therapist-client relationship nor any of the privileges that relationship may provide. If you are currently feeling suicidal or are in crisis, call 911 or proceed to your local emergency room.

View 3 other answers

More Answers